Pictures of Past Rectors

Pictures of the recent Rectors of Tilehurst are displayed in the church cloisters (and reproduced below).  A more complete list of past Rectors is recorded on a commemorative board in the nave of the church (see List of Past Rectors).

Of particular interest are Martin Joseph Routh, President of Magdalen College Oxford for 63 years, and his nephew John William Routh, who between them were incumbents of  St Michael's from 1810 to 1905.  They are commemorated in the name of one of the roads adjacent to the church, Routh Lane.

Martin Joseph Routh, Rector 1810-1854

John William Routh, Rector 1855-1905

Henry Richard Cooper-Smith, Rector 1905-1934

Francis Gordon Sherwood, Rector 1934-1953

Oliver Dudley Harvey, Rector 1953-1962

Peter de la Poer Beresford-Peirse, Rector 1962-1970

George Lanyon Hacker, Rector 1971-1979

John Sefton Tilston, Rector 1980-1984

David Raymond Russell Seymour, Priest-in-charge 1984-1985

Clive Morlais Peter Jones, Rector 1985-1993

Frederick William Dawson, Rector 1994-2007

John Arthur Rogers, Rector 2007-2017

The Revd Dr Elizabeth Clare Ratcliffe, Rector

The Revd Dr Liz Ratcliffe, our present Rector, inducted September 2018